Western Blind Curling

Congratulations BC Blind Curlers, Results of the Western Blind Curling Championship 2023

Report from Norman Lyons , President, Manitoba Blind Sports Association, and Chair, 2023 Western Blind Curling Championships

Home from a wonderful 2023 Western Blind Curling Championships.  The Teams from Prince George, Campbell River, Vancouver And Edmonton are home or are still in Transit.  My Third, Bill Liggins is on his way back to Parry Sound, Ontario.  I hope all had a good time and enjoyed.

The Western Blind Curling Association held their Annual General Meeting on Thursday Afternoon.  Elected to a 2 Year Term were:

Lori Hysert , President, Norman Lyons , Vice – President, Mandy Collins , Secretary And David Erno , Treasurer.  Natalie Mandy , Morin will serve as Past President.

The Winner of The Manitoba Blind Sports Association 50 / 50 Raffle of $1,842.50 was John Hill.  The Winning Ticket was sold by Norman Lyons .

The Awards were presented and the Winning Teams were the Natalie Morin Rink, Edmonton 2, Western Blind Curling Association First Place Trophy.  The Second Place Ken Blondheim Memorial Trophy was won by The Arthur Monkman Rink of Campbell River.

The Third Place Trophy donated by The Manitoba Blind Sports Association was won by The Eric Rosen Rink from Prince George.

The Sportsmanship Awards were won by (Ladies), Monica Nelson from Vancouver And (Gentlemen), Hunter McLaughlin from Winnipeg.

The Michelle Anfinson Award presented by Marv And Stacey Anfinson  in memory of wife and mother was won by Brian Fredrickson of Winnipeg.

The 2024 Western Blind Curling Championship will be hosted in Alberta.

I want to personally thank once again all of our Sponsors, Donors And Volunteers who were so generous to make this event a resounding success.  I have the personal satisfaction of seeing the event come back and be back on track.  To my Committee, big thanks to all of you for your hard work.  And finally to Cathy Derewianchuk, my Executive Director of Manitoba Blind Sports for the long hours and her dedication to keep it all together.

It was unfortunate that Saskatchewan was unable to participate this year but I hope to see them back next year.  It was good to see Marv And Stacey Anfinson  who came from Regina to take part and present their awards.

That’s a wrap.