Canadian Accessible Election TeleTownHall 2021, 2nd Announcement

Canadian Accessible Election TeleTownHall 2021

Accessibility and Inclusion 2021

getting ready for a Canadian Federal Election during a pandemic

 

2nd Notice

Sterling Creations and the Canadian Council of the Blind in collaboration with Elections Canada are pleased to invite you to join a country wide Town Hall Webinar on Saturday, May 29, 2021 via Zoom Webinar.

 

You are invited to an English Zoom webinar.

Topic: Canadian Accessible Elections Town Hall 2021

When: May 29, 2021 10:00 AM Vancouver

 

·      Register in advance for this webinar, if you’re not already registered please do so here:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_azUC00_1SCCIM6ieLkYSuQ

 

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

For any questions please email the Canadian Accessible Elections Town Hall 2021 organizing committee at

CAETH2021@Gmail.com

 

Susan Torosian, Executive Director, Policy and Public Affairs – Regulatory and Public Affairs will provide an outline of the multi-disability accessibility features Canadians can expect to experience when the next federal election is called.

Automated Closed Captioning will be available.

Through this webinar Elections Canada will also be open to your questions about how the services that will be offered for the election can meet your accessibility and information needs.

 

Susan Torosian

Executive Director, Policy and Public Affairs – Regulatory and Public Affairs

 

Susan Torosian joined Elections Canada in 2007.

 

Sue holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Business Administration) from the Memorial University of Newfoundland. She joined the public service in 2002 as Director, Communications and Outreach for the Canada Savings Bond program, where she stayed for five years before joining Elections Canada.

 

Since joining Elections Canada, she has held various positions of increasing responsibility in the area of Regulatory and Public Affairs, each with increasing management, financial and stakeholder relationship responsibilities. By integrating external stakeholder engagement management practices, improving accessibility for electors and raising awareness and establishing technical training programs, she has contributed to the significant culture change within the organization in regards to client focus.

 

Sue has put policies in place to ensure the agency’s services are accessible, and has established and chaired a committee on disability issues.

 

 

Susan Torosian

Directrice exécutive, Politiques et Affaires publiques – Affaires régulatoires et publiques

 

Susan Torosian s’est jointe à Élections Canada en 2007.

 

Sue détient un baccalauréat en commerce (administration des affaires) de la Memorial University of Newfoundland. Elle a obtenu son premier poste à la fonction publique en 2002, à titre de directrice des communications et du rayonnement pour le programme des Obligations d’épargne du Canada, où elle a travaillé pendant cinq ans avant de se joindre à Élections Canada.

 

Depuis son arrivée à Élections Canada, Sue a occupé divers postes dans le Secteur des affaires régulatoires et publiques, assumant toujours plus de responsabilités quant à la gestion, aux finances et aux relations avec les intervenants. Par la mise en œuvre de pratiques liées à gestion des consultations avec les intervenants externes, l’amélioration de l’accessibilité pour les électeurs, l’élaboration de programmes de formation technique et son travail de sensibilisation, elle a contribué à un important changement de culture au sein de l’organisme en ce qui concerne l’approche axée sur le client.

 

En outre, Sue a instauré des politiques visant à assurer l’accessibilité des services de l’organisme, et a créé et présidé un comité sur les questions touchant les personnes handicapées.

 

Date: Saturday, May 29, 2021

Times: 10:00 am Pacific

11:00 am Mountain

12:00 pm Central

1:00 pm Eastern

2:00 pm Atlantic

2:30 pm in Newfoundland

 

This meeting will last no longer than two hours.

We believe this Town Hall will assist greatly to help you prepare for a possible Federal Election should one be called in the near future.

 

Thank you

The Canadian Accessible Elections Town Hall 2021 organizing committee

 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: